Does Wisconsin Require State W-2 Reporting?
Yes, Wisconsin does require state W-2 reporting only if there was state tax withholding.
How Must Wisconsin State W-2 Reporting be Filed?
Wisconsin accepts e-filing and paper filing.
E-filing is required if you have 10 or more forms to file.
What are the Forms and Due Dates for Wisconsin State W-2 Reporting?
In addition to the Form W-2, Wisconsin requires Form WT-7, Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Wisconsin Income Tax Withheld to be filed directly with the state.
Forms W-2 and WT-7 are due by January 31.
What are the W-2 penalties for Wisconsin?
The W-2 penalties for Wisconsin are as follows:
- Late filing/payment: Penalty of $50.
- Filing incorrect or incomplete returns: Penalty of $10 per violation.
- Fail to file or refuse to file (negligence): Penalty of 5% of unpaid tax per month, not to exceed 25% of tax due.
- Interest is 18% per year on taxes that are not paid. If an extension is granted, interest is 1% per month.
See the Wisconsin Withholding Tax Guide PDF for more information.
What is the Responsible State Filing Agency?
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8933
Phone: (608) 266-2776
BoomTax, The Boom Post, and its affiliates do not provide tax, legal or accounting advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or accounting advice. You should consult your own tax, legal and accounting advisors prior to engaging in any transaction.