Is Utah State W-2 Reporting Required?
Yes, Utah does require state W-2 reporting even if there was no state tax withholding.
How Must Utah State W-2 Reporting be Filed?
Utah accepts e-filing only.
What are the Forms and Due Dates for Utah State W-2 Reporting?
In addition to the Form W-2, Utah requires Form TC-941E, Utah Withholding Return to be filed.
Forms W-2 and TC-941E are due by January 31.
What are the W-2 penalties for Utah?
The W-2 penalties for Utah are as follows:
Late filing: The penalty for late filing depends upon how late the filing is submitted.
- 1-5 days late: Greater of $20 per form, or 2% of unpaid tax, fee, or charge.
- 6-15 days: Greater of $20 per form, or 5% of unpaid tax, fee, or charge.
- 16+ days: Greater of $20 per form, or 10% of unpaid tax, fee, or charge.
- Returns that are not filed electronically, but filed on paper, will also be subject to the late filing penalties.
- Penalties may apply if the return is filed by the due date, but paid late or underpaid.
- Other penalties may also apply.
- Interest is assessed from the due date until the tax is paid.
See the Utah Pub. 58, Interest and Penalties for more information.
What is the Responsible State Filing Agency?
Utah State Tax Commission
210 N. 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84134
Phone: (801) 297-2200
What about other states?
BoomTax, The Boom Post, and its affiliates do not provide tax, legal or accounting advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or accounting advice. You should consult your own tax, legal and accounting advisors prior to engaging in any transaction.