Does Montana Require State W-2 Reporting?
Yes, Montana does require state W-2 reporting even if there was no state tax withholding.
How Must Montana State W-2 Reporting be Filed?
Montana accepts paper filing and e-filing.
What are the Forms and Due Dates for Montana State W-2 Reporting?
In addition to Form W-2, Montana requires Form MW-3, Montana Annual W-2 1099 Withholding Tax Reconciliation to be filed.
Forms W-2 and MW-3 are due by January 31.
What are the W-2 penalties for Montana?
The W-2 penalties for Montana are as follows:
- Late filing: Penalty of $5 per form, Minimum penalty of $50.
- Late Payment: Penalty of 1.5% of unpaid tax per month, not to exceed 15% of tax due. This is in addition to any late filing penalties that may be applied.
- Interest on late/unpaid tax may apply.
See the Montana Employer and Information Agent Guide for more information.
What is the Responsible State Filing Agency?
Montana Department of Revenue
Sam W. Mitchell Building
125 N. Roberts, 3rd Floor
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-6900
What about other states?
BoomTax, The Boom Post, and its affiliates do not provide tax, legal or accounting advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or accounting advice. You should consult your own tax, legal and accounting advisors prior to engaging in any transaction.