Does Minnesota Require State W-2 Reporting?
Yes, Minnesota does require state W-2 reporting even if there was no state tax withholding.
How Must Minnesota State W-2 Reporting be Filed?
Minnesota accepts paper filing or e-filing.
However, employers submitting 10 or more Forms W-2 are required to file electronically.
What are the Forms and Due Dates for Minnesota State W-2 Reporting?
There are no other forms besides Form W-2 that are required to be filed in Minnesota.
Forms W-2 are due by January 31.
What are the W-2 penalties for Minnesota?
The Minnesota DOR may assess a $50 penalty for each time the employer:
- Fails to furnish a form
- Fails to file a form
- Provides false or fraudulent forms
- Refuses to provide all of the required information
The maximum penalty is $25,000 per year.
See the Minnesota DOR W-2 and Information Return Penalty webpage for more information.
What is the Responsible State Filing Agency?
Minnesota Department of Revenue
600 N. Robert Street
St. Paul, MN 55146
Phone: (651) 556-3000
What about other states?
BoomTax, The Boom Post, and its affiliates do not provide tax, legal or accounting advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or accounting advice. You should consult your own tax, legal and accounting advisors prior to engaging in any transaction.