Does Louisiana Require State W-2 Reporting?
Yes, Louisiana does require state W-2 reporting even if there was no state tax withholding.
How Must Louisiana State W-2 Reporting be Filed?
Louisiana accepts paper filing and e-filing.
However, employers submitting 50 or more Forms W-2 are required to file electronically.
What are the Forms and Due Dates for Louisiana State W-2 Reporting?
In addition to Form W-2, Louisiana requires Form L-3, Transmittal of Withholding Tax Statements to be filed.
Forms W-2 and L-3 are due by January 31.
What are the W-2 penalties for Louisiana?
The late filing or failure to file penalty for Louisiana is $5 per form, not to exceed $7,500.
See the Louisiana Withholding Tax FAQ for more information.
What is the Responsible State Filing Agency?
Louisiana Department of Revenue
617 N. Third Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
What about other states?
BoomTax, The Boom Post, and its affiliates do not provide tax, legal or accounting advice. This material has been prepared for informational purposes only, and is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or accounting advice. You should consult your own tax, legal and accounting advisors prior to engaging in any transaction.